Buying at auction

Buying at auctions is one of the most reliable and most fascinating ways to collect art or to enrich existing collections.  Each auction is always an extraordinary event.

We at Germann Auction House Ltd. welcome all Art Enthusiasts at our Fine Arts Auctions and Poster Auctions. There are various ways to participate in our auctions – In person in our saleroom or, as an absentee bidder with a written bid, by telephone where we will call you during the auction or at certain auctions by online bidding via the internet.

Our auction catalogs are published approx. 3 weeks prior to the auctions. You can order your personal catalogs, browse the catalogs online on our webpage or download it as PDF.

We exhibit all artworks during the previews and invite you to visit this « Museum on Time ».


The auctions and the previews are public.

We recommend that everybody visits the preview exhibitions and to examine the quality and the condition of the art works. Due to reproduction -catalog and internet- it might be possible that slight colour deviations occur. Unfortunately, not even the most modern techniques avoid such mutations and changes. 

We kindly ask you to carefully read the conditions of sale by auction.

 

watchlist / bidding list on the internet

Presumably, your interest is attracted by several objects and you cannot take an immediate decision. While clicking into the field "save to my watchlist/bidding list" you can list your favourites. The list is designed to be used as your personal working instrument as well as for placing written absentee bids or telephone orders (see below). 

 

Bidding in person at auction

To bid in person, just come to the reception before the auction begins. If you are a first-time bidder, you may be asked to identify yourself (ID Card, passport) and to supply financial references.

To bid on an object, simply raise your hand. This will indicate the auctioneer your bid.
The bidding increments are decided by the auctioneer, and usually do not not exceed ten percent of the previous bid.

 

Absentee Bids / Written Order Bids

If you cannot attend the auction in person and wish to bid, you can do so by completing the absentee bid form and submit your written bid.

On the internet: Click on the page "detailed view" of the lots of your interest into the field "save to my watchlist/bidding form". On the menu item "Auctions" and "My Watchlist/Bidding Form" you see the collected artworks of interest you. On your Watchlist/Bidding Form you can  edit your selection and  put in your maximum bids. Just print the list as PDF, insert your complete address and personal details and send it duly signed either per post, fax or Email to Germann Auction House Ltd.

A "Blank List" can also be printed and filled out in handwriting.
The form is also included in each catalog. 

Your bid, with your maximum amount, will not be exceeded. The premium on the hammer price and the applicable Swiss VAT (value added tax) are not included in your bid and will be added to the price. As a rule, the lots will always be bought for the lowest increment that exceeds all competing bids and which meets or exceeds the reserve price.

The duly signed forms must be received by Germann Auction House Ltd. no later than 24 hours before the auction begins. 

We strongly recommend that you send in your written order bids as early as possible because, in the event of identical bids, the earliest received will take precedence. 

 

Bids by telephone

If you decide to bid by telephone we will call you during the auction at your specified  phone number short before the desired lot comes up .

Please ensure your telephone lines are not occupied and that you have our catalog available. As a rule, the auction proceeds rather fast and therefore, it is advisable that you roughly decide in advance on the amount you are willing to pay. The premium on the hammer price and the applicable Swiss VAT is not included in your bid and will be added to the price. Our team is eager to actively engage you in the auction process and will help you to successfully place your bids. 

To place your telephone order:  Create your "Watchlist/Bidding Form"  as described in the above section "Absentee Bids/Written Order Bids". Instead of filling in an amount you just write "Phone Order" and state the telephone number (including country code) at which you can be reached during the time the auction takes place and send it duly signed either per Post, Fax or Email to Germann Auction House Ltd.

The duly signed forms must be received by Germann Auction House Ltd. no later than 24 hours before the auction begins.
The telephone lines are limited.

 

Bids in the course of an Online Auction via the internet

Potential buyers who intend to to place their bids in the course of an Online Auction via the internet may participate in the auction once their registration application has been approved by Germann Auctions House Ltd. Germann Auctions House reserves the right to decline registration applications at its discretion. 

 

Premium

All buyers shall pay a premium on the hammer price for each lot, calculated as follows:

For a hammer price up to CHF 10'000: 25%

For a hammer price above CHF 10'000 up to CHF 400'000:
25% on the first CHF 10'000
20% on the difference between CHF 10'000 up to the hammer price

For a hammer price above CHF 400'000:
25% on the first CHF 10'000
20% on the difference between CHF 10'000  up  to CHF 400'000
15% on the difference between CHF 400'000  up to the hammer price

If the winning bid is placed in the course of a Live Online Auction, there will be an additional 3% added to the premium. Bidders are subject to the terms and conditions of Germann Auctions House Ltd. as listed on the Live Auction Website, which may differ in some respects from those listed here. 

 

 Value added tax (VAT / MWST)

The above mentioned buyer's premium is subject to the Swiss VAT, which is to be paid by the buyer.
For lots marked with asterisk (*) both, the price at which the object has been knocked down and the buyer's premium are subject to the Swiss VAT.

After an export declaration, duly signed by the Swiss customs authorities, has been received, Germann Auction House Ltd. will refund the Swiss VAT to foreign buyers, provided that the sum exceeds CHF 50.

 

Payment and release of acquired objects

You may pay for your purchase immediately after the auction by going to the Cashiers and take the objects with you. Payment by check or credit card is not accepted. Otherwise, the invoice will be sent to you by mail or Email and must be paid within 10 days either by bank or post transfer. Late payments are due to a penalty of 1% interest per calendar month.

The purchase will be released after receiving the buyer’s full payment of the hammer price, premium and, if applicable the taxes. You may pay for your purchase immediately after the auction by going to the Cashiers or an invoice will be mailed to you following the sale.

The object acquired must be picked up at the close of the auction or within 10 days thereafter at the risk and expenses of the buyer. After that, the objects will be stored at the risk and expenses of the buyer. The daily rate is CHF 10 per object.
The buyer is fully liable for the loss, theft, damage or destruction of the acquired items. Germann Auction House Ltd. ceases to have liability after the said period.

We look forward to your participation in our auctions. 

 

Germann Auction House Ltd.   - Your Partner concening Fine Arts
 
Germann Auctions House Ltd., Stockerstrasse 38, 8002 Zurich (Switzerland)
Fon +41 44 251 83 58   -   Fax +41 44 261 53 87      art@germannauctions.com  -

Germann Auktionen - Kaufen an einer Auktion

Kaufen an Auktionen ist ein vertrauenswürdiger und spannender Weg Kunst zu sammeln oder bestehende Sammlungen zu bereichern.  Jede einzelne Auktion ist immer auch ein aussergewöhnliches Kunst-Erlebnis.

Wir bei Germann Auktionshaus  AG heissen jede Kunstliebhaberin und jeden Kunstliebhaber zu unseren Kunst- und Plakat-Auktionen herzlich willkommen. Sie können auf unterschiedliche Art an unseren Auktionen mitbieten:  persönlich bei uns im Saal,  durch Abgabe eines schriftlichen Gebots, per Telefon oder bei bestimmten Auktionen auch online.

Unsere Auktionskataloge erscheinen ca. drei Wochen vor der Versteigerung und umfassen alle Kunstwerke, die zur Auktion gelangen. Sie können Ihr persönliches Exemplar bestellen, den Katalog auf unserer Homepage anschauen oder ihn per PDF herunterladen.

Wir stellen alle Kunstwerke während der Vorbesichtigung aus und laden Sie herzlich ein, unsere Ausstellung  zu besuchen! 

 

Die Auktionen und die Vorbesichtigung sind öffentlich

 

Wir empfehlen allen Interessenten, die Auktionsausstellung zu besuchen und sich von der Qualität und dem Zustand der Objekte ein genaues Bild zu machen. Im Reproduktionsbereich -Katalog oder Internet- können Farbabweichungen leider vorkommen. Dies lässt sich trotz neuster Technik nicht immer vermeiden. 

Bitte lesen Sie die Auktionsbedingungen gründlich durch.

 

Merkliste im Internet

Wahrscheinlich sind Sie an mehreren Objekten interessiert und können sich nicht sofort entscheiden. Indem Sie auf das Feld "In Merkliste speichern" klicken, können Sie Ihre Favoriten zusammenstellen.  Die Merkliste kann sowohl als ganz persönliches Arbeitsinstrument als auch zur Erteilung eines schriftlichen oder telefonischen Auktionsauftrags genutzt werden (vgl. unten). 

 

Persönliches Mitbieten im Auktionssaal

Bitte melden Sie sich am Empfang.  Als neuer Kunde kann es sein, dass Sie sich mit einem persönlichen Ausweis (Identitätskarte, Pass) legitimieren müssen. Ein Bonitätsausweis kann verlangt werden, falls Sie als neuer Kunde die Absicht haben zu kaufen.

Um während der Auktion mitzusteigern, erheben Sie Ihre Hand. Dadurch signalisieren Sie dem Auktionator Ihr Gebot. 

Die Steigerungsschritte werden vom Auktionator bestimmt, übersteigen aber in der Regel nie zehn Prozent des vorausgegangenen Gebots. 

 

Mitbieten durch Abgabe eines schriftlichen Gebots

Falls Sie nicht persönlich im Saal an der Auktion teilnehmen, können Sie ein schriftliches Gebot abgeben. 

Im Internet: Klicken Sie in der Detailansicht des Sie interessierenden Lots auf das Feld "In Merkliste speichern".  Über die  Menüpunkte "Auktionen" und "Meine Merkliste / Auktionsauftrag" gelangen Sie zu den von Ihnen zusammengestellten Kunstwerken.  In der Merkliste können Sie Ihre Auswahl bearbeiten und Ihre jeweiligen Maximalgebote bestimmen.  Drucken Sie die Liste als PDF aus,  vervollständigen Sie das Formular mit Ihren Angaben und senden Sie es unterschrieben per Post , Fax oder Email an die Germann Auktionshaus AG. 

Es kann auch eine leere Auftragsliste ausgedruckt und von Hand ausgefüllt werden. Zudem ist das Formular auch dem Auktionskatalog beigelegt. 

Ihr Gebot  mit dem von Ihnen festgesetzten Maximallimit wird nicht überschritten. Das Aufgeld und eine allfällige Mehrwertsteuer sind in Ihrem Gebot jedoch nicht enthalten und werden dazu gerechnet. Das Lot wird jeweils zum tiefstmöglichen Preis zugeschlagen, unter Berücksichtigung anderer Gebote und der vom Verkäufer festgesetzten Limite.

Das Formular muss 24 Stunden vor der Auktion bei Germann Auktionshaus AG eintreffen. 

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, Ihr Gebot frühzeitig abzugeben, da bei gleichlautenden Geboten das zuerst eingetroffene berücksichtigt wird.

 

Mitbieten am Telefon

Wir rufen Sie während der Auktion, kurz vor dem gewünschten Lot, unter der von Ihnen angegebenen Telefonnummer an. 

Achten Sie darauf, dass Ihr Telefon in dieser Zeit nicht besetzt ist und Sie den Auktionskatalog zur Hand haben. Die Auktion verläuft in der Regel sehr schnell, daher ist es empfehlenswert, den Betrag, den Sie zu zahlen bereit sind, bereits vor der Auktion für sich zu bestimmen. Das Aufgeld und eine allfällige Mehrwertsteuer sind in Ihrem Gebot nicht enthalten und werden dazu gerechnet. Unser Team ist bestrebt, Sie möglichst aktiv in die Versteigerung einzubinden, um Ihnen das Mietbieten zu erleichtern.

Einen telefonischen Auktionsauftrag erteilen: Stellen Sie wie im Abschnitt "schriftliches Gebot" beschrieben, mittels Merkliste Ihre Kunstwerke  zusammen.  Setzen Sie  aber keine Maximalgebote für die jeweiligen Lots ein,  sondern schreiben Sie auf dem ausgedruckten Formular "Telefongebot" in die betreffenden Zeilen,  sowie die Telefonnummer,  unter welcher wir Sie zum Zeitpunkt der Auktion erreichen können. 

Der Auftrag muss 24 Stunden vor der Auktion bei Germann Auktionshaus AG eintreffen. Die Anzahl der Telefonleitungen ist beschränkt.

 

Bei Online Auktion mitbieten

Interessenten, die Ihr Gebot im Rahmen einer Online Auktion via Internet abgeben möchten, können an der Auktion teilnehmen, nachdem sie von Germann Auktionshaus AG aufgrund eines Registrierungsgesuchs zur Auktion zugelassen worden sind. Germann Auktionshaus AG behält sich das Recht vor, Registrierungsgesuche ohne Weiteres abzulehnen. 

 

Aufgeld

Auf dem Zuschlagspreis ist pro Lot ein Aufgeld zu entrichten, das wie folgt berechnet wird:

Bis zu einem Zuschlagspreis von CHF 10’000: 25%

Bei einem Zuschlag über CHF 10’000 bis CHF 400’000:
25% auf die ersten CHF 10’000
20% auf die Differenz von CHF 10’000  bis zur Höhe des Zuschlags

Bei einem Zuschlag über CHF 400’000:
25% auf die ersten CHF 10’000
20% auf die Differenz von CHF 10’000  bis CHF 400’000
15% auf die Differenz von CHF 400’000 bis zur Höhe des Zuschlags

Ein zusätzliches Aufgeld von 3% auf den Zuschlagspreis wird bei Käufen über "Live-Online-Auctions" berechnet.

Gebote über eine Online-Auktion unterstehen den Auktionsbedingungen, welche auf der "Live-Auktion-Webseite" publiziert sind. Diese können von den hier publizierten abweichen.

 

Mehrwertsteuer

Auf das  Aufgeld ist die schweizerische Mehrwertsteuer (MWST) vom Käufer zu bezahlen.

Bei mit Stern (*) bezeichneten Losen sind der Zuschlagspreis sowie das Aufgeld mehrwertsteuerpflichtig.

Wird von ausländischen Käufern eine vom Schweizer Zoll ordnungsgemäss abgestempelte Ausfuhrdeklaration beigebracht, vergütet Germann Auktionshaus AG die schweizerische Mehrwertsteuer (MWST) zurück, sofern der Betrag CHF 50 übersteigt.

  

Bezahlung und Ausgabe der gekauften Objekte

Die Rechnung für Ihre Käufe können Sie während oder nach der Auktion am Empfang verlangen  und falls Sie sofort in bar bezahlen, die Objekte gleich mitnehmen.

Kreditkarten und Checks werden nicht akzeptiert.

Andernfalls wird Ihnen die Rechnung per Post oder Email zugesandt. Diese muss innerhalb von 10 Tagen mittels Bank- oder Postüberweisung bezahlt werden.

Verspätete Zahlungen werden mit einem Verzugszins von 1% pro angebrochenem Monat belastet.

Die ersteigerten und bezahlten Kunstwerke müssen innerhalb von 10 Tagen auf Risiko und Kosten des Käufers übernommen werden. Nach diesem Zeitpunkt haftet der Käufer für Verlust, Diebstahl, Beschädigung und Zerstörung der Objekte. Die ersteigerten Objekte werden nach dieser Bezahl- und Abholfrist von 10 Tagen auf Risiko und Kosten des Käufers eingelagert. Der Tagessatz beträgt CHF 10.- pro Objekt.

Der Ersteigerer/Ersteigerin erwirbt das Eigentum erst nach vollständiger Zahlung des Zuschlagspreises und des Aufgeldes sowie allfälliger Steuern.

10 Tage nach erfolgtem Zuschlag trägt der Käufer/Käuferin die Haftung für Verlust, Diebstahl, Beschädigung und Zerstörung des Objektes.

 

 Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme an unseren Auktionen

 

Germann Auktionshaus AG   -  Ihr Partner in Sachen Kunst
Germann Auktionshaus AG, Stockerstrasse 38, 8002 Zürich (Schweiz)
Fon +41 44 251 83 58   - Fax +41 44 261 53 87      art@germannauktionen.ch